Kingdom of the
Planet of the Apes


Reviewed on: June 23, 2024
2nd time watch


Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure
dir. by: Wes Ball
Released: May 10, 2024


a new age

Following the critically-acclaimed trilogy, this movie marks the beginning of a whole new saga for the franchise. Though it may not reach the amazing highs of the previous two films, I really enjoyed what this film had to offer and am interested to see where it goes next. Though even as just a standalone movie divorced from anything else, it feels like a fun, classic adventure that left me mostly satisfied by the credits.

Noa rallying his ape bros

eee-voo-lution of a franchise

The main enjoyment I took from this movie is its awesome worldbuilding. The film takes place generations after the previous trilogy, and the film has no problem taking its time to show the viewer around the world it created. Some might be bored by all the talking and wandering in the film, but it never felt boring to me due to the great dialogue and locations.

This was greatly helped by the amazing animation. I'm not usually a fan of realistic CGI like in those Disney Lion King remakes. But this is the exception, as seeing every little expression in these well-acted chimpanzee's faces was incredible. I was taken aback by how well I could tell what the characters were thinking with just a small gesture or glance. The animation team and motion-capture actors really stole the show here.

Noa facial capture

Overall, the film's plot is pretty basic but entertaining. It takes a pretty clear "hero's journey" path with likeable characters. At times watching the movie I felt if you replaced the apes with medieval humans, you'd have a pretty kickass fantasy film. The characters don't seem to demonstrate as much depth or moral greyness as their predecessors though. The themes seem to be pretty clear cut.

The film also feels like it could've balanced its characters' screentime better. The main villain, Proximus (Kevin Durand), is pretty awesome. He's an insecure ape fascist trying to recreate human history in his kingdom. That's an interesting concept but he and his titular kingdom don't get much time to shine. Also, despite the simple plot it can get a bit convoluted. I watched the film twice and still found myself confused around the climax.

Overall, I wouldn't say the film is as good as the previous two, but it is better than the first film in the last trilogy. So as the first film in a new trilogy, that's acceptable. I had a great time watching this movie and can definitely see myself rewatching it, if only to immerse myself again in its stunning post-apocalyptic setting.

Proximus preaching to his kingdom

miscellaneous points + spoiler talk

  • The best character in the film hands down had to be Raka (Peter Macon) the wise orangutan. He had so many funny lines and the best facial expressions in the film. In the end credits scene, we hear him laughing so I think we can expect to see him return in the future.
  • I didn't really talk much about the humans in the film to avoid spoiling most of the major twists. But, I will say I'm very intrigued by Mae (Freya Allen) and what she will do in the future. She seems to be the most complex character in the film. Though I don't agree with her actions throughout the movie, the film does a good job making you sympathize with her motivations.
  • I enjoyed Noa (Owen Teague) as the protagonist but don't have much to say on him. He has a good journey and character development. But, he doesn't face the same fascinating internal conflicts that Caesar did. His journey is pretty clear-cut, at least for now.
  • I watched the movie a second time due to being invited. I enjoyed the film a good bit more on my second viewing. Overall the film has a lot of replay value.
  • Someone I watched the film with tried to say the film wasn't political. Erm, the main villain is a charismatic leader who spins the words of a historical idol to push his agenda. A lot of the stuff he does, like stripping his prisoners of their cultural identity, trying to "evolve" through military advancement, and cosplaying as Julius Caesar, is literally Fascism 101. The movie has plenty of political commentary and I think that kinda rocks.
  • The climax of the film is still kind of confusing to me. They were planning to open the giant door in the middle of the kingdom and... thought the guards wouldn't notice? It's not enough to run the movie, but still weird.

final recommendation

WHAT A WONDERFUL DAY/10

If you enjoy:

  • lots of worldbuilding
  • a satisfying hero's journey
  • immersive animation and action set pieces
  • monke

give it a watch!

If you dislike:

  • somewhat simple characters
  • lots and lots of talking
  • underdeveloped concepts

you might be disappointed, but still find enjoyment

MUSIC

<<

>

>>

00:00
0:00
Vol

music player code by adilene.net